Skip to content
NipponWalk

Paceriva alternatives for Japanese walking

Last updated

Paceriva - Japanese Walking is a well-rated Japanese walking timer for iPhone: 4.7 stars from 79 ratings on the U.S. App Store, a free adjustable timer, Apple Health saving and no data collected. People look for alternatives for three reasons: they want Apple Watch support, they'd rather not pay weekly for the extras, or they want different features. Here are the options, from each app's U.S. listing, checked on October 22, 2026.

Disclosure: we make NipponWalk, one of the alternatives below. It isn't released yet.

What Paceriva offers

  • Free: the interval timer, with adjustable interval lengths and counts, running in the background.
  • Paid: calories and streak tracking, for $2.99 a week, $14.99 a year or $19.99 lifetime.
  • Devices: iPhone only. The developer has said an Apple Watch app is planned.
  • Privacy: Data Not Collected.

Some reviews mention cues stopping with the screen locked or music muting; the developer replied that these were fixed. If those are your reasons for switching, update first and try again.

The alternatives

  • For Apple Watch: Just Walk: Interval Walking (wrist taps and cadence coaching on the watch, Pro $0.99/mo or $9.99/yr) or Japanese Walking: Timer & Plan (Watch, voice and haptic cues, Live Activity; free classic session with ads).
  • For completely free: Japanese Interval Walking. No purchases, adjustable intervals, Live Activity and Dynamic Island, no data collected. Not updated since September 2025.
  • For more customisation: JWT – Japanese Walking Timer. Adjustable sets, interval lengths and renamable pace labels; locked-screen walking, Live Activity and Watch need Pro.
  • For a guided challenge: Japanese Walking Workout. Voice guidance, a 30-day challenge and Apple Watch; custom intervals need premium.
  • For calm, hands-free voice cues: NipponWalk (ours, not released yet). The full walk with voice cues over your music, the Lock Screen and Apple Health are free; Pro is $19.99 a year with a 7-day trial, $3.99 a month or $29.99 once, with no weekly plan. It has no custom interval lengths and no Apple Watch support in version 1.0.

Side by side

Japanese walking apps on the U.S. App Store, from each app's listing (checked October 22, 2026)
AppPrice (U.S.)Cues with the phone lockedApple WatchPrivacy label
Japanese Walking: Timer & PlanFree classic session; Plus $3.99/mo, $19.99/yr, $39.99 lifetime; contains adsYes, voice and haptic, over your musicYesUsage data used to track you
Paceriva - Japanese WalkingFree timer; $2.99/week, $14.99/yr, $19.99 lifetimeRuns in the backgroundNo (planned)Data Not Collected
Just Walk: Interval WalkingFree, 1 coached walk a week; Pro $0.99/mo, $9.99/yrHaptic cues on Apple Watch, no audioYes, the main experienceData Not Collected
JWT – Japanese Walking TimerFree; Pro from $1.99 (several tiers)With ProWith ProData Not Collected
Japanese Interval WalkingFree, no purchasesYes; cue type not statedNoData Not Collected
Japanese Walking WorkoutFree; $3.99/week, $19.99/yr, $29.99 lifetimeYes, voiceYesData Not Collected
Japanese Walking TimerFree; Pro $2.99–$29.99; contains adsNotificationsNoUsage and diagnostics, not linked to you
Japanese Walking - BriskFree; Premium $0.99 or $23.99Voice or tones, music dips for cuesYesLocation, contact info and more, linked to you
Japanese Walking AppFree; Plus $4.99/week, $29.99/yrPlus onlyMirroring with PlusData Not Collected
Interval Walk Fit AppFree; $1.19/week, $6.99 lifetimeAudio cues; locked phone not statedNoData Not Collected
NipponWalk (ours, not released yet)Free walk; Pro $3.99/mo, $19.99/yr, $29.99 lifetimeYes, voice, over your musicNot in version 1.0Purchase history and an ID, not linked to you

When to stay with Paceriva

If you mainly want a free, adjustable timer on your iPhone and you don't need the paid extras, Paceriva already does that, with a strong rating and no data collected. Switching only makes sense if you need something it doesn't do.

Frequently asked questions

Is Paceriva free?

The timer is free. Calorie and streak tracking need a purchase: $2.99 a week, $14.99 a year or $19.99 lifetime, according to its U.S. listing.

Does Paceriva work on Apple Watch?

Not yet. The listing says iPhone only, and the developer has said a Watch app is planned.

What's the cheapest alternative?

Japanese Interval Walking is free with no purchases. Our web timer is free in any browser.