There are now more than twenty Japanese walking apps on the App Store. We compared the ten most established ones on what matters on a real walk: whether the cues keep coming with your phone locked, whether they work with your music, what they cost, and what they do with your data. Every fact comes from the app's own U.S. App Store listing, checked on October 22, 2026.
Disclosure: we make NipponWalk. It isn't released yet, so it isn't ranked here; it's described separately at the end. Prices and features change, so check the listing before you buy. Spotted something out of date? Email nipponwalk@chuventures.com.
Our picks
- Best free classic session with everything else: Japanese Walking: Timer & Plan. The 30-minute classic walk is free, with voice and haptic cues that keep coming with the screen locked and play over your music, plus Apple Watch and a Live Activity. Trade-offs: the free version has ads, and its privacy label says usage data is used to track you.
- Best completely free timer: Japanese Interval Walking. No purchases at all, adjustable intervals from 30 seconds to 10 minutes, a Live Activity and Dynamic Island, and no data collected. Trade-offs: the listing doesn't say whether cues are spoken, and it hasn't been updated since September 2025.
- Best for Apple Watch: Just Walk: Interval Walking. Built around wrist taps and cadence coaching on the watch, with a 4-week adaptive program. Trade-off: cues are haptic, not audio, and the free tier allows one coached walk a week.
- Best adjustable timer: Paceriva - Japanese Walking. The timer is free, you can set interval lengths and counts, it saves to Apple Health and collects no data. Trade-offs: iPhone only for now, and the calorie and streak features need a weekly, yearly or lifetime purchase.
- Best for a 30-day challenge: Japanese Walking Workout. Voice guidance, a daily plan and Apple Watch. Trade-off: custom interval lengths need premium.
All ten compared
| App | Price (U.S.) | Cues with the phone locked | Apple Watch | Privacy label |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Japanese Walking: Timer & Plan | Free classic session; Plus $3.99/mo, $19.99/yr, $39.99 lifetime; contains ads | Yes, voice and haptic, over your music | Yes | Usage data used to track you |
| Paceriva - Japanese Walking | Free timer; $2.99/week, $14.99/yr, $19.99 lifetime | Runs in the background | No (planned) | Data Not Collected |
| Just Walk: Interval Walking | Free, 1 coached walk a week; Pro $0.99/mo, $9.99/yr | Haptic cues on Apple Watch, no audio | Yes, the main experience | Data Not Collected |
| JWT – Japanese Walking Timer | Free; Pro from $1.99 (several tiers) | With Pro | With Pro | Data Not Collected |
| Japanese Interval Walking | Free, no purchases | Yes; cue type not stated | No | Data Not Collected |
| Japanese Walking Workout | Free; $3.99/week, $19.99/yr, $29.99 lifetime | Yes, voice | Yes | Data Not Collected |
| Japanese Walking Timer | Free; Pro $2.99–$29.99; contains ads | Notifications | No | Usage and diagnostics, not linked to you |
| Japanese Walking - Brisk | Free; Premium $0.99 or $23.99 | Voice or tones, music dips for cues | Yes | Location, contact info and more, linked to you |
| Japanese Walking App | Free; Plus $4.99/week, $29.99/yr | Plus only | Mirroring with Plus | Data Not Collected |
| Interval Walk Fit App | Free; $1.19/week, $6.99 lifetime | Audio cues; locked phone not stated | No | Data Not Collected |
| NipponWalk (ours, not released yet) | Free walk; Pro $3.99/mo, $19.99/yr, $29.99 lifetime | Yes, voice, over your music | Not in version 1.0 | Purchase history and an ID, not linked to you |
“Cues with the phone locked” reflects what each listing claims, not our own testing. Several listings name in-app purchases without saying which is weekly, yearly or lifetime; we've shown them as listed.
What to look for in a Japanese walking app
- Cues with the phone locked. You'll walk with your phone in a pocket. If cues stop when the screen locks, the app fails at its one job. Check whether this is free or paid: in some apps background running is a paid feature.
- Cues that work with your music. Look for cues that lower your music briefly rather than stopping it or being drowned out.
- Spoken cues or wrist taps. A voice saying “fast” or “easy” is clearer than a beep. Haptics on Apple Watch are great if you wear one.
- A fair free tier. The classic 3-3-5 walk is a simple routine. Several apps give it away free; you shouldn't need a subscription to time it.
- Plain pricing. Weekly plans look cheap but add up: $2.99 a week is about $155 a year. A yearly or lifetime price is usually better value.
- The privacy label. Scroll to App Privacy on the listing. A walking timer doesn't need your location, contacts or a tracking identifier.
- Recent updates. iOS changes every year. An app that hasn't been updated in a year may struggle with background audio and the Lock Screen.
Do you need an app at all?
No. The method is free, and a timer is all you need. Our free web timer runs the 3-3-5 session in your browser with spoken cues (keep the screen on). Apple's own Workout app on Apple Watch can run a custom interval workout with wrist taps. An app earns its place when you want cues with your phone locked in your pocket, your walks saved to Apple Health, or help building a habit.
Where NipponWalk fits
We built NipponWalk because we wanted the timing to disappear: start the walk, lock the phone, and let a calm voice call every switch over your music. Its focus is reliability and a calm, glanceable design rather than features.
- Free: the full 3-3-5 walk, voice and vibration cues with the phone locked, the Lock Screen and Dynamic Island, Apple Health saving, weekly goal, streak and stamps. No ads, no account.
- Pro (optional): a walk log, past months, the Streak Shield and a 4-week ramp. $19.99 a year with a 7-day free trial, $3.99 a month or $29.99 once. No weekly plan. Pricing details.
- Not for you if: you want custom interval lengths, GPS route stats, Apple Watch support today, or Android.
NipponWalk is in development and has not launched. It is not available on the App Store yet, and the private TestFlight beta has not opened. Join the waitlist to be invited. Join the waitlist.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best free Japanese walking app?
For a full-featured free session, Japanese Walking: Timer & Plan (with ads). For a free timer with no purchases or data collection, Japanese Interval Walking. Or use our web timer without installing anything.
Is there a Japanese walking app for Apple Watch?
Yes. Just Walk: Interval Walking is built around the watch, and Japanese Walking: Timer & Plan, Japanese Walking Workout and Japanese Walking - Brisk list Apple Watch support. You can also build a custom interval workout in Apple's Workout app.
Which Japanese walking apps work with the phone locked?
Most of them claim it. In some, such as JWT and Japanese Walking App, it's a paid feature. Check the listing, and test it on a short walk during any free trial.
Are Japanese walking apps worth paying for?
The classic walk doesn't need a paid app; several free options time it well. Paying makes sense for extras you'll actually use: programs, history, Watch features or no ads. Avoid weekly plans.